Monroe County Democratic Women:
 Serving Monroe County Women.  

Meetings are held on the fourth Wednesday of February, March, April, May, June, September, October, (November meeting is the 3rd Wednesday of the month) at the  Democratic HQ, 18 South 9th St, Stroudsburg - 7:00 pm
President: Nellie Gordon 
VicePresident:Kathleen Frisby-Burch
Secretary: Gen Battisto
Treasurer: Anne Fetherman
For more information: (570) 236-9760 or email

Hello Monroe County Democratic Women and Friends!

We have an updated list of our membership for 2021. Our 2021 Monroe County Democratic Women members are listed in the “To” section of this e-mail. We are eager for more of you ladies to join our political action committee (PAC). Our mission statement is:

The purpose of MCDW shall be to promote women to a more active interest and participation in governmental affairs and to promote the fundamental principles that the Democratic Party represents.

We need to expand and garner new ideas to accomplish this goal. We need women to take charge and step up as candidates and officers. Currently, we lack a Secretary to take down the Minutes at our meetings.
You are invited to stop by the Monroe County Democratic Headquarters located at:

on WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 22, 2021, between the hours of 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

This will be an informal “Meet & Greet” event to talk with our officers to learn about us and what we do as a PAC. It is also opportunity for you to join or re-join our group. Our dues are $15.00, made payable to the Monroe County Democratic Women. They will count toward your membership for the calendar year 2022.

We are also inviting all our Democratic candidates should they or a representative from their committee wish to come. We are going to follow the current CDC and Commonwealth Health and Safety Guidelines and will advise closer to that date. Light refreshments will be served.

Below is an excerpt from a recent legislative newsletter from a local Republican PA House Representative. Note, that the opinionated comments with respect to Governor Wolf’s veto of both the “Voting Rights Protection Act” and Senate Bill 618 show our Democratic Governor in a negative light.

The “Voting Rights Protection Act” is in reality an attempt at “Voter Suppression.”
Senate Bill 618, if enacted to law would put children and youth, young adults, and educators at severe health risk.

We need need to get Women Democrats in public office and the ladies already elected retain their seats!
Be Safe! Nellie



Eleanor Roosevelt said:

"Too often the great decisions are originated and given form in bodies made up wholly of men, or so completely dominated by them that whatever of special value women have to offer is shunted aside without expression."

Join us in our endeavor to give voice to common sense, social justice, and the progressive values of the Democratic Party, and Remember: It was only 100 years ago that women finally won their hard fought right to vote!

Back to top