Monroe County PA Candidates

  • Candidates

    For the primary election results - see this link.

    Our 2017 state wide Democratic candidates:

    Dwayne D. Woodruff our Democratic candidate for Pennsylvania Supreme Court. He is a Judge on the Court of Common Pleas of Allegheny County – Pittsburgh, presiding primarily in the Family Court Division since 2005. 
    Woodruff earned a degree in Business Finance from the University of Louisville (1979) and a Juris Doctor from Duquesne University School of Law (1988), which he attended, full time at night during his professional football career with the Pittsburgh Steelers – played 12 seasons, including playing in Super Bowl XIV as a rookie in 1980, being named Steelers MVP in 1982 and serving as team captain his final three seasons.
    Learn more about Judge Woodruff at his web site.

    Debbie Kunselman is one of our four Democratic candidates for the PA Superior Court.
    In November 2005, Judge Deborah Anne Kunselman became the first woman ever elected to the Court of Common Pleas of Beaver County.  Judge Kunselman is a 1992 honors’ graduate of the University of Notre Dame Law School, and a 1989 high-honors’ graduate of the Pennsylvania State University, where she was a student of the Schreyer Honors College and elected to Phi Beta Kappa. 
    Learn more about Judge Kunselman at her web site.

    Maria McLaughlin is also a Democratic candidate for the PA Superior Court.
    The Honorable Maria McLaughlin is a Judge in the Court of Common Pleas, First Judicial District.  Judge McLaughlin presides over both family law and criminal law matters. Currently, Judge McLaughlin serves as the co-chair on the Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas FYI Committee and as the current vice-president of the Nicholas A. Cipriani Family Law American Inn of Court. 
    Learn more about Judge McLaughlin at her web site.

    Geoff Moulton is a Democratic candidate for the PA Superior Court.
    Geoff Moulton was sworn in as a judge of the Pennsylvania Superior Court in August 2016, after being nominated by Governor Tom Wolf and unanimously confirmed by the Pennsylvania Senate.  His term extends through the end of 2017.
    Learn more about Judge Moulton at his web site.

    Carolyn Nichols is our last Democratic candidate for one of the four seats on the PA Superior Court.
    Judge Carolyn H. Nichols, elected to the Court of Common Pleas in 2011, conducts felony jury trials in criminal court, with equal justice, protecting the rights of crime victims, and the accused; she works to create opportunities for positive reentry to prevent recidivism. She attended public schools and graduated from Temple University JD, LLM, and Eastern University MBA programs.
    Learn more about Judge Nichols on her Facebook page..



    coming very soon - a complete list of all of our Democratic Candidates for 2017

    get involved, get in touch with them, find out how to help turn out the vote and WIN in Novemeber 

Back to top